Steam Whistle's Blog Steam Whistle on Facebook Steam Whistle Twitter Instagram Photos
Steam Whistle - Do One Thing Really, Really Well

Smiling Antimatter (June Art Exhibit)

“Smiling Antimatter” is a mixed media painting exhibition that will be featured at the Steam Whistle Brewery.

We heard the news. Scientists have finally produced mysterious antimatter atoms for the first time. We don’t know what it means, but we know that the future is here. We live in a science fiction world, a world our previous generation hadn’t even dreamed of. We converse with people on other continents face-to-face using video chat, watch movies on our cellphones and tweet our daily routine to everybody. How does it feel to be living and depending on high technology? What will tomorrow bring?


Each artist captures the anxiety underlying the experience of living in a science fiction-like society with humour and carnivalesque grotesqueness.


Artists
Vicki Nerino www.vickinerino.com
Britt Wilson www.brittwilson.com
Roben Nieuwland www.robennieuwland.com
Ilichna Morasky www.strangerfamiliar.com
Selena Wong www.selenawong.com
Franzisca Barczyk www.fizab.com
Ty Dunitz www.glitchritual.com
Ale Diaz www.alediaz.com
Eric Overton www.overton.ca/eric
Hyein Lee www.hyeinlee.com


Come out to see the work of very talented artists this June.

Join us for the Opening Night Party, Wednesday June 1, 2011 from 7-11 pm. Steam Whistle Brewing, The Roundhouse, 255 Bremner Blvd., Toronto M5V 3M9, or visit the brewery all month long to check out the exhibition.


 


About Steam Whistle Gallery:
Steam Whistle Brewing hosts monthly art exhibitions in their Retail & Hospitality area to showcase local creative talent. Although many exhibitors are established artists, some are showing for the first time. Steam Whistle does not charge rent for their gallery space, nor is a commission earned on any works that are sold. At the close of each show, one piece from the show (of the artist’s choice) is donated to their permanent collection bringing further profile to artists through the thousands of visitors to the brewery annually.


 


All exhibitions are open free to the public- Monday to Thursday from 12 noon to 6 pm, Friday and Saturday from 11 am -6pm, and Sunday from 11am to 5 pm. Steam Whistle Brewing - The Roundhouse - 255 Bremner Blvd. Toronto. ( just south of the CN Tower) 416 362 2337 x 246.

Event Details

Date: Wednesday, June 01, 2011
End Date: Sunday, July 03, 2011
Event Type: Art
Location: Steam Whistle Brewery - 255 Bremner Blvd
Time: Opening Reception: June 1 7:00-pm11:00pm
Ticket: Free