Steam Whistle's Blog Steam Whistle on Facebook Steam Whistle Twitter Instagram Photos
Steam Whistle - Do One Thing Really, Really Well

Menagerie - Steam Whistle February Art Show

Menagerie - a series of anthropomorphic illustrations.

“Menagerie” is an art show that engages the imaginative exploration of anthropomorphism – the attribution of human qualities to nonhumans. Through visual study, nineteen local up-and-coming artists will explore the idea of anthropomorphism as a form of self-extension. As we “humanize” nonhuman entities, personal relationships are established, and a special - sometimes disturbing - attachment is then applied to the animal or object. This can be seen from our naming of pets, to drawing faces on inanimate objects, to shouting at a car when it has broken down. Through us, the animal/object takes on its own humanity. The result of this visual exploration is a modern bestiary - a collection of creatures, human and nonhuman, situated and interacting in contemporary society.


Featuring:


Terence Baker


Alex Beaton (www.alexbeaton.grandportfolio.com)


Chelsea Canlas (www.chelseacanlas.com)


Willy Cardona (www.willcandesign.com)


Jesse Graham (www.jesse-graham.com)


Laura Harte (www.lauraharte. com)


Kassem (www.kassem.ca)


Hannah Kim (www.haena-kim.com)


Diana Luong (www.dianaluong.com)


Erin Rei (www.erinrei.com)


Philip Rice


Irva Saraci (www.irvasaraci.com)


Sabrina Scott (www.sabrinascott.ca)


Kira Shaimanova (www.kirashaimanova.com)


Sam Singh (www.samsinghillustration.com)


Alena Skarina (www.alenaskarina.com)


Caitlin Taguibao (www.caitlintaguibao.com)


Kate Thornley (www.katethornley.com)


Kat Verhoeven (www.verwho.com)


Join us for the Opening Night Party, Thursday February 2nd 2012 from 7-11 pm.  Steam Whistle Brewing, The Roundhouse, 255 Bremner Blvd.,Toronto or visit the brewery during all of February to check out the exhibition.


 


About Steam Whistle Gallery:


 


Steam Whistle Brewing hosts monthly art exhibitions in their Gallery to showcase local creative talent.  Although many exhibitors are established artists, some are showing for the first time.  Steam Whistle does not charge rent for their gallery space, nor is a commission earned on any works that are sold.  At the close of each show, one piece from the show (of the artist’s choice) is donated to their permanent collection bringing further profile to artists through the thousands of visitors to the brewery annually.


 


All exhibitions are open free to the public- Monday to Thursday from 12 noon to 6 pm, Friday and Saturday from 11 am -6pm, and Sunday from 11am to 5 pm.  Steam Whistle Brewing - The Roundhouse - 255 Bremner Blvd.  Toronto. (south of the CN Tower) 416 362 2337 x 246. 


 

Event Details

Date: Thursday, February 02, 2012
End Date: Tuesday, February 28, 2012
Event Type: Art
Location: 255 Bremner Blvd (Steam Whistle Brewery)
Time: Opening Launch: 7pm
Ticket: Free