Steam Whistle's Blog Steam Whistle on Facebook Steam Whistle Twitter Instagram Photos
Steam Whistle - Do One Thing Really, Really Well

Black Math (October Art Exhibit)

Steam Whistle hosts Black Math.

In the beginning, we believed in fairies, spells, demons, and rituals. Our lives were governed by our own fear of the dark. And so we set out to conquer that fear. Over time, math replaced myth; algorithm replaced ritual; equation replaced enigma. We gained the ability to predict the laws of nature themselves. We left the supernatural behind.


But have we grown complacent? What lies there, beyond the forgotten frontier of the mystic, concealed by darkness? What is waiting at the crossroads of science and sorcery? Is it dangerous? Could it change our lives?


Black Math is a mixed media exhibition wherein the relationship between the natural and supernatural worlds is explored by each artist with equal parts wit, impishness, solemnity and straight up humour.


 


Artists
Vicki Nerino      www.vickinerino.com
Britt Wilson      www.brittwilson.com
Roben Nieuwland     www.robennieuwland.com
Ilichna Morasky     www.strangerfamiliar.com
Ty Dunitz     glitchritual.com
Ale Diaz      www.alediaz.com
Alexei Vella     www.alexeivella.com
Hyein Lee      www.hyeinlee.com
Selena Wong http://www.selenawong.com/ 


 


OPENING NIGHT PARTY - WEDNESDAY OCTOBER 3RD 7PM

Event Details

Date: Wednesday, October 03, 2012
End Date: Wednesday, October 31, 2012
Event Type: Art
Location: 255 Bremner Blvd (Steam Whistle Brewery)
Time: Opening Launch: 7pm Oct 3
Ticket: Free